Lithuania takes over the EUSBSR Presidency

The official EUSBSR website presented the latest information on the change of the EUSBSR Pfeisidency from germany to Lithuania, which happened on 1st July 2021. Read the information below.

The EUSBSR National Coordinators’ Group is chaired by one National Coordinator for the duration of one year (1 July – 30 June).

On the 1st of July 2021, the Chair rotated from Germany to Lithuania, and Lithuanian National Coordinator, Robertas Bružilas took the lead.

Revitalise-Recover-Recharge – motto of the Presidency

“We very much appreciate the excellent work done by the German Presidency achievements and will build our activities on these achievements in order to move the EUSBSR agenda forward.

Lithuania starts its Presidency with a motto “Revitalise-Recover-Recharge”. We will make efforts to further ensure necessary political attention to the EUSBSR. We also want the EUSBSR to contribute to post-pandemic recovery of the EU. Finally, by providing the stakeholders with various platforms for discussions and cooperation, we expect to create SYNERGIES as a basis for swift implementation of the EUSBSR Action Plan.  

Lithuanian Presidency aims at strengthening cooperation among the stakeholders of the EUSBSR and will continue to link up the EUSBSR family. In this context, we intend to continue the initiative of our German colleagues – “Coffee with the Presidency”. This format should further facilitate stronger networking and exchange possibilities between the Policy Areas; provide the Policy Area Coordinators with a platform to present your activities, share your experiences and best practices, to demonstrate synergy effects.

Priorities of the Lithuanian Presidency

Further steps concerning the launch of the Baltic Sea Strategy Point (BSP) as well as successful implementation of the revised EUSBSR Action Plan will be among the priorities of the Lithuanian Presidency. We will make our utmost to ensure level playing field for all stakeholders of the EUSBSR family. 

The EUSBSR Annual Forum 2021 should be an important milestone of the Lithuanian Presidency. It will take place virtually from 27 September to 1 October 2021. We would like to use this opportunity to thank all stakeholders for your applications to organise various events in the framework of the Annual Forum. We very much look forward to cooperating with you!” 



Contact the Presidency team

Should you have any suggestions, please contact the Lithuanian Presidency team:

Robertas Bružilas, NCG Chair

Deputy Director,

European Union Department, MFA Lithuania


Laura Čeponytė, Counsellor

European Union Department, MFA Lithuania



The EUSBSR National Cooridinators’ Group is the overall coordination body for the development, implementation and policy monitoring of the Strategy. To keep up on the NC Group’s work, the reports of National Coordinators’ Group meetings are uploaded on the EUSBSR website.