Registration to the 11th EUSBSR Annual Forum is now open

The EUSBSR Annual Forum will be held online on 20th October 2020. Registration to the Forum is now open. The speakers and moderators have also been published.


Online on 20 October 2020
Turku, Finland

EUSBSR on Twitter

Registration for the EUSBSR Annual Forum has been opened! Please register here:

The deadline for registration is 18 October 2020. After you register a personal link to the Annual Forum will be sent to you a day before the event on 19 October 2020.

Confirmed speakers and moderators announced

You can now find information about the speakers and moderators from our programme. The Forum will be moderated by Finnish journalist and media professional Peter Nyman, Chief Market Manager at COWI Bettina Rafaelsen and Director of The Baltic Institute of Finland Esa Kokkonen. In the opening session, Mayor of Turku Minna Arve and Director General of CBSS Grzegorz Poznański will welcome you to the Forum. The former President of Finland Tarja Halonen holds a keynote speech.

The program is structured in three parts. The first panel will focus on BSR cooperation and what it means to cooperate effectively even when the pandemic limited the ability to meet face-to-face.

The panel features for example Finnish Minister of the Environment and Climate Krista Mikkonen, Mayor of Gdansk Aleksandra Dulkiewicz, Acting Director Christos Economou, Directorate-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission, Madeleine Granvik from Baltic University Programme, C.E.O. Tiina Tuurnala from Finnish Shipowners´ Association and Jonas Faergeman, Chair of #ReGeneration2030 Steering Committee.

The second discussion will focus on the emerging areas of cooperation. Minister of Economic Affairs and Employment of Finland Mika Lintilä will start the discussion. The panelists include for example General Secretary of BSSSC Krystyna Wroblewska, Executive Secretary of HELCOM Rüdiger Strempel, Director of The Northern Dimension Partnership in Public Health and Social Well-being Ülla-Karin Nurm, Director of EU and International Affairs Christiane Mißlbeck-Winberg from Confederation of Danish Employers and Aline Mayr, Representative of the Baltic Sea Youth Platform.

The third panel focuses on the future of the EUSBSR and outlines the main policies that will shape the Strategy in the next 10 years. For example, the panel features Ambassador for Baltic Sea Affairs at MFA Finland Helena Tuuri, Head of European Affairs at Eastern Norway County Network Ann Irene Sæternes, C.E.O. of Nordic West Office Risto E. J. Penttilä, Chair of Interreg Baltic Sea Region Monitoring Committee of Ministry of Environmental Protection and Regional Development Iruma Kravale and Member of the European Parliament Delara Burkhardt.

Closing words will be offered by Pekka Haavisto, the Minister for Foreign Affairs of Finland.

Additional speakers will be confirmed at a later date.

There are plenty of opportunities to interact and ask questions during the panels. Generous networking breaks are also reserved in the programme.

Register now to workshops

Before the Forum, a series of online workshops are organised in cooperation between the different Policy Areas of the EUSBSR and other relevant stakeholders. Please remember to sign up in advance. Registrations are open right now and the workshops are already being held:

Join us in discussing online

You can participate in the Forum’s diverse program from your laptop or phone. Our online event platform and mobile app will be published closer to the Forum. Participants will be able to network, ask questions and participate in discussions online. Networking Village will also be available online.